After a motor vehicle accident of any kind, you should file a crash report. By law in Kentucky, you are required to file a report of your crash with the Kentucky State Police within 10 days of the incident if there was more than $500 worth of damage done. If you call the police and they come to the scene and file a report, then you don’t need to file one on your own.
When you file a crash report about an accident that caused injuries or other damages, it creates documentation and proof that the collision happened. This will help you down the road if you choose to take legal action against the driver who cause the accident, a negligent company, or an insurance company who is refusing to give you payment for your damages.